The Year was 1993

The year was 1993 and all was right in the world. MTV was blasting Smells Like Teen Spirit non-stop but the tone of my 28.8 baud modem was almost drowning it out. I remember chucking a Pepsi Clear across the room after 6 failed attempts to log into AOL. They were having growth issues and was at my wits end. Thinking, should have signed up for Compuserve

Today as I sit here and think back, how different are things really?

–   The iPad is cool and all but in 1993 I had an Apple Newton. It had hand recognition, looked cool as hell and even had hand recognition.

–   Today we have blue tooth, wifi, 3G networks, GPS, AGPS and some other things I won’t pretend to even understand. We’ll in 1993 I had a pager the size of a pack of cigarettes and a car phone the size of a PS3 still in the box. People could get in touch with me anywhere. Ok, we’ll anywhere might be a bit of an exaggeration. If the car phone wasn’t turned on or out of range, I had my beeper as backup. Find a payphone was never a problem in 1993. Do they even have payphones anymore?

–  NetscapeWe had our browser wars. They were between Netscape & Mosaic. – What ever happened to those two companies did they finally self implode or kill each other off.

–   We had Twitter, Facebook and buzz. It was just called IRC, Newsgroups and BBS’s. It was a little less real time, but real-time is overrated anyway.)

– Hell we even had video chat with a program called CUSEEME. That’s where I saw my first live internet naked girl. At least I think she was naked and I think it was a girl. Hard to tell with all those pixels missing.

What else happened in 1993?

The movie Jurassic Park came out And on the radio we had, Snoop Doggy Dogg , Rage Against the Machine, Radiohead, Nirvana, R.E.M. and Alice in Chains

  • Bill Clinton was President
  • The World Wide Web was born at CERN
  • The Pentium microprocessor introduced by Intel.
  • Windows NT 3.1 released by Microsoft
  • Dyson sells the first bagels cyclonic Vacuum Cleaner
  • Average Income per year $31,230.00
  • Cost of a gallon of Gas $1.16
  • Movie Ticket $4.14
  • Loaf of Bread $1.57
  • Tuition to Harvard University $23,514.00
Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
4 thoughts on “The Year was 1993

  1. Pingback: reBlog from Justmakler: “The Year was 1993″ « The Perfect Desktop

  2. Hey – nice blog, just looking around some blogs, seems a really nice platform you are using. I’m currently using WordPress for a few of my sites but looking to change one of them over to a platform similar to yours as a trial run. Anything in particular you would recommend about it?

  3. Apple has again built a product that looks perfect and feels great in the hand with a familiar user interface, lent from the iPod touch and the iPhone, is perfectly suited to the big screen. My 1st impressions of the iPad are very positive, the iPad whizzes along, you can open applications, resizing web pages, and zooming in and out of maps almost instantaneously. I´m still waiting to test further, but the first tests are amazing. Regards, Ariana Moncher

Leave a Reply

